Medical Research Council.—Established in November 1960, this Council operates as a virtually autonomous unit within the administrative framework of the National Research Council. It is composed of a chairman, a secretary and 15 members who serve for a three-year term, renewable once. The primary aim of the Council is the development of medical research and the support of medical research workers in the university centres of Canada. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry in his capacity as Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Municipal Development and Loan Board.—The Act establishing this Board (SC 1963, c. 13) received Royal Assent on Aug. 2, 1963. The Board comprises a chairman and four other members, all senior officials of government, appointed by the Governor in Council, and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. The Board was set up to make loans, up to a total amount of \$400,000,000, to municipalities to assist in the construction of additional municipal capital projects, thereby providing increased employment during the period 1963-66. By Mar. 31, 1966, the last date on which a loan could be approved, almost the entire fund had been committed, although actual loan payments continued to be made subsequent to that date as projects were completed.

National Arts Centre Corporation.—The Act establishing this Corporation (SC 1966, c. 48) was assented to July 15, 1966. The Corporation consists of a Board of Trustees composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, the Mayors of Ottawa and Hull, the Director of the Canada Council, the President of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Government Film Commissioner and nine other members appointed by the Governor in Council for terms not exceeding three years, except for the first appointees whose terms range from two to four years. The objects of the Corporation are to operate and maintain the National Arts Centre, to develop the performing arts in the National Capital Region and to assist the Canada Council in the development of the performing arts elsewhere in Canada.

National Battlefields Commission.—This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 to preserve the Historic Battlefields at Quebec City. The Commission is composed of nine members, seven appointed by the Federal Government and one each by the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The Commission is supported by annual appropriations of the Federal Government and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

National Capital Commission.—This Commission is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (SC 1958, c. 37), proclaimed Feb. 6, 1959. It is the lineal descendant of the Federal District Commission. The Commission is served by a full-time paid chairman and comprises a total of 20 members representative of the ten provinces of Canada. Its work force fluctuates between 600 and 850, depending on the season.

Co-ordination and development of public lands in the National Capital Region are undertaken by direct planning and construction by the Commission's staff; by co-operation with municipalities; by provision of planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects; and by advising the Department of Public Works on the siting and appearance of all Federal Government buildings in the 1,800-sq. mile National Capital Region. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Works.

National Gallery of Canada.—The beginnings of the National Gallery of Canada are associated with the founding of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1880. The Marquis of Lorne, then Governor General, had recommended and assisted the founding of the Academy. One of the three tasks he assigned to that institution was the establishment of a National Gallery at the seat of government. By Act of Parliament in 1913, re-enacted in 1951, the National Gallery was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council and now operates under the National Gallery Act (RSC 1952, c. 186). It is responsible to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development, care and display of the national art collections. Its services to the public include a large reference library on the history of art and related subjects; an Exhibition Extension Branch through which travelling exhibitions, lectures and the showing of art films, and guided tours of the Gallery at Ottawa are conducted; the production of art publications and reproductions; and a National Conservation Research Laboratory.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of St. John's, Nfld.; Halifax, N.S.; Saint John, N.B.; Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois-Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Vancouver, B.C.; and Churchill, Man.; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges at Montreal, Que.; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council of Canada.—This is an agency of the Canadian Government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The Council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Halifax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian university and industrial laboratories; sponsors Associate Committees co-ordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and main-